Marsh Award for Ecology

Awarded for an outstanding current research record which is having a significant impact on the development of the science of ecology or its application.

It is provided by the Marsh Christian Trust and administered by the British Ecological Society.  The Award is an honorarium of £1,000 and is open to ecologists from anywhere in the world.

The Nominations Committee will consider the following criteria when considering nominations:

  • An outstanding body of research which is making a significant  and demonstrable impact on the understanding of ecology or its application;
  • An excellent publications record;
  • Invitations to speak at international conferences;
  • Service on national and international committees/advisory boards.

If you would like to nominate someone from the ecological community, complete the Award Nomination form in the ‘Useful Documentation’ section below and email it to us.  Nominations must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae of the nominee. Applications are now open with a deadline of Monday 3 April 2017.

Winners to date:

2016 – Lynne Boddy
2015 – Jane Memmott
2014 – Rosie Woodroffe
2013 – Kevin Gaston
2012 – Tim Coulson
2011 – EJ Milner-Gulland
2010 – Jeremy Thomas
2009 – Mike Begon
2007 – Christian Korner
2006 – Philip Ineson
2005 – Ilkka Hanski
2004 – Stephen Hubbell
2003 – Andrew Watkinson
2002 – Jim Brown
2001 – Sam Berry
2000 – William Sutherland
1999 – John Harper
1998 – Phil Grime
1997 – John Lawton