Aquatic Ecology

The Aquatic Ecology Group aims to bring together all areas of aquatic ecology to promote and facilitate interdisciplinary working.

Contact

Co-Secretaries:
Nessa O’Connor  (marine – till Jan 2018) n.oconnor@tcd.ie
China Hanson (marine – from Jan 2018) c.hanson@qmul.ac.uk
Lee Brown (freshwater) l.brown@leeds.ac.uk

Treasurer:
Michelle Jackson m.jackson@imperial.ac.uk

Communication Team:
Marie-Claire Danner (also ECR Rep) dannermarieclaire@gmail.com
Pavel Kratina p.kratina@qmul.ac.uk
Veronica Edmonds-Brown v.r.edmonds-brown@herts.ac.uk

ECR Representatives:
Lydia White lwhite18@qub.ac.uk
Lynsey Harper L.Harper@2015.hull.ac.uk

Social media: Twitter and Facebook

Background

2014 saw the group re-launch itself with a stronger emphasis on fostering a dynamic group of individuals able to address the broad range of challenges faced by the aquatic community. The Aquatic Group hosts its annual science meeting around the third week of July each year at Charles Darwin House, London, bringing together established and emerging leaders in aquatic ecology from around the world. It is an excellent forum for meeting people working in similar fields, for socialising as well as for general networking.

Members interested in holding additional conferences, meetings, workshops or field meetings on aquatic topics can apply through the Co-Secretaries for BES financial assistance and support for student attendance. Membership is open to BES members with an interest in any field of aquatic ecology.

Join the mailing list

The group runs an email list that is an open forum for discussion among aquatic ecologists all over the world. Messages posted to the list are automatically forwarded to all members and include research information, discussion and requests, future meeting and job advertisements. To join the list, send an email to Ronni Edmonds-Brown.

Aims

  • Bring together all areas of aquatic ecology to promote and facilitate interdisciplinary working
  • Hold workshops and meetings to stimulate discussion, and exchange skills and ideas
  • Encourage and support early career researchers

Meetings and Events

For all upcoming events please see the events page.